Although Kansas and Missouri are neighboring states in the Midwest, sometimes the difference in a variety of laws between the two states can be surprising. However, it is important to know and understand the different laws across various states so that you can protect your rights. For example, you might live in the Kansas side of the Kansas City Metro while working on the Missouri side. In that case, it is important to know how Missouri employment law differs from employment law in Kansas in order to protect yourself from wrongful termination or other employment offenses.
Payment & Overtime Laws in Missouri
In Missouri, the required minimum wage is currently $7.65 per hour. There are no minimum or maximum number of hours that an employer may ask an employee to work, however, Missouri labor laws require employers to compensate employees for the actual number of working hours. In the case of overtime, Missouri law defines overtime as anything above working 40 hours in a work week. Employers are required to pay at least one and one-half times the employee’s regular pay during overtime hours. If you believe your employer has violated Missouri laws for pay or overtime, contact an employment law attorney for help filing a claim.
Termination in Missouri
Missouri, like Kansas, is an employment-at-will state, which means that both the employer and employee have the right to terminate employment at any time. However, Missouri employees are also protected from discrimination under civil rights laws. If an individual believes that he or she was fired based on race, color, age, national origin, religion, ancestry, sex, or physical/mental disability, that individual has the right to file a claim. Employers must pay the terminated employee all wages that are due. If the employer does not pay the wages due, the employer can be held liable through legal action for additional wages.