March 31, 2016
Understanding Drug Possession Laws in Missouri
The first time people are charged under Missouri’s drug possession laws, they are shocked by the severity of the consequences. They make the assumption that drug crimes are so common that they must not be pursued with much diligence by prosecutors. However, Missouri’s drug possession laws are among the strictest anywhere. Being caught with even a small amount of marijuana can have dire consequences. That’s why it’s vital to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney when you are arrested under drug possession laws
Missouri’s Drug Possession Laws
Marijuana may have been decriminalized elsewhere, but Missouri’s drug possession laws are unchanged. Anyone arrested with 35 grams or less of marijuana in Missouri is looking at misdemeanor charges. This means being fined up to $1,000 and spending up to one year in jail. If you are caught with anything more than 35 grams of marijuana, you’ll be charged with a felony, which can mean as many as seven years in prison.
Anyone who is caught with a drug other than marijuana will be charged with a Class C felony. Once again, this means a prison sentence of up to seven years and as much as $5,000 in fines.
Going Beyond Drug Possession Laws
The penalties only get stiffer if you’re accused of selling, distributing or trafficking in drugs. Trying to sell between five grams and 30 kilograms of an illegal substance can lead to up to 15 years in prison and maximum fines of $20,000. If you’re caught allegedly selling or distributing within 2,000 feet of a school, you could be looking at as much as life in prison.
Don’t take chances with your reputation and your future. If you’ve been charged under one of Missouri’s drug possession laws, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney working for you. Kansas City criminal defense attorney Daniel C. Miller has years of experience helping individuals caught in these difficult situations. Call our office today at (816) 875-0470.