When good people get in trouble: Missouri (816) 875-0470 Kansas (913) 624-9646

So you just got a speeding ticket (or you were pulled over for another moving violation)… Now what?

Here are some questions to some frequently asked questions we get at our office:

Q: Should I sign the ticket?
A: It usually doesn’t matter.  If you sign, you are promissing to show up for court.  Some officers in some jurisdictions will take umbrage with it and require you to post a bond.  But, usually, it doesn’t mean a thing whether you sign it or not.  It is not an admission of guilt.  However, what you do later is critical to the future of your driver’s license.

Q: What happens if I just mail in the fine and costs?  
A: When you mail in the fine and costs of the ticket, you just put a moving violation and points on your record. What does that mean for the future of your driver’s license? Eight points in 18 months will suspend your license and 12 points in 12 months will get your license revoked.  Your insurance carrier will most likely never give you a discount or a lower rate on a premium because of your moving violation.

Q: I forgot all about the ticket!  My court date was weeks ago!  Now what?
A: Nothing good is going to happen.  The jurisdiction that issued you the ticket, may give you a wake-up letter and one more chance.  However, you should not expect it.

They will usually issue a ‘failure to appear’ warrant.  If you originally posted bond, it could be forfeited for failure to appear (FTA).  Even worse, you might have been reported to the Department of Revenue (DOR)  for failing to appear and your license could get suspended.  If you get pulled over for a minor offense like your headlight being out, the officer will discover that you are driving on a suspended license.  He may also learn you have a warrant for FTA.

Q: Can I just mail in the fines on all these tickets, including driving while suspended?  
A: Sure you can but it is not the best course of action.  If you just pay the fines, your license will be revoked because driving while suspended in Missouri is a 12 point offense.  Now you get to mail your driver’s license to the Department of Revenue.

From the comfort of your own home, you have paid court costs and fines and lost your drivers license. What do you think?  Time to call a lawyer?

Get Legal Help from Dan Miller Law

If you have been pulled over for speeding or another moving violation, our attorneys at Dan Miller Law can help.  Call today at (816) 875-0470, or use our web submission form to request more information.