When good people get in trouble.

Missouri 816.524.8718Client Login

Your Legal Resource

Miller & Terry Attorneys at Law take the time to understand your case before determining the best course of action. Keeping current on new laws & regulations ensures your attorney has most prevalent knowledge of the law combined with years of experience to win your case.

March 02, 2015

DUI penalties: Why hire a DUI lawyer?

Category: DUI Attorney, DUI Lawyer, DUI/DWI, Lee's Summit, License Suspension, Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Posted by

If you think driving under the influence in the state of Missouri doesn’t carry stiff DUI penalties, think again. Alcohol-related collisions and deaths occur senselessly each year, and lawmakers have the difficult task of penalizing drunk drivers for their role in fatal accidents. To prevent future fatalities from occurring, strict DUI penalties are enforced.

Missouri’s DUI Penalties

In Missouri, DUI convictions carry a mandatory fine, license suspension, and/or jail time. Even if you’ve never been in trouble with the law before, you can’t escape punishment. A drunk driving conviction costs $500 in fines and goes against your driver’s license. You get a hefty 8 points for driving under the influence.
If that wasn’t bad enough, give up the idea of driving. You won’t be able to for 30 days or more following a conviction. Spending up to six months in jail isn’t fun for anyone, but it could happen to you. In some instances, another possible penalty requires you to blow into a breathalyzer installed in your vehicle in order to operate it.

Not a First Time Offender?

 
 
First time offenses carry fairly lenient DUI penalties compared to DUI penalties for repeat offenders. A second offense carries a maximum $1,000 fine, one-year license suspension, and mandatory jail time up to a year -depending on the circumstances. If the DUI occurs within five years of your first conviction, your drivers license may be revoked for up to five years. You’ll also get 12 points on your license and a mandatory ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. Harsh DUI penalties are intended to make drivers think twice about drinking and getting behind the wheel.

Penalties for Third DUI Offenses

A third DUI penalty can cause penalties of up to $5,000 in fines, a 10 year license suspension, and jail suspension ranging from 30 days to up to four years. Like with a second DUI offense, you get 12 points on your license and an interlock device installed in your vehicle. In addition to the shame of not being able to drive or being imprisoned, you carry a criminal record for others to see. Securing employment, housing, and education can be difficult for offenders.

Resolve DUI Charges With Help From an Experienced DUI Lawyer

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you need to act fast to mitigate the damage. Daniel C. Miller part of top 100 trial lawyers in the nation. Along with providing experienced DUI legal services, Daniel C. Miller is also a felony lawyer, traffic attorney and more!

Call today at (816) 875-0470 for your consultation!

Proudly serving Lee’s Summit & Kansas City.