When good people get in trouble: Missouri (816) 875-0470 Kansas (913) 624-9646

In the state of Kansas, felonies are classified as off-grid or by a severity level. These severity levels are based on level 1 as the most severe and level 10 as the least severe. Each classification has its own predetermined sentence. The following are each criminal offense considered as a felony in the state of Kansas by its classification.

Off-Grid

These offenses are punishable by a life sentence or execution:

  • Capital Murder;
  • 1st-degree Murder;
  • Treason.

Level 1-5 Felonies

These felonies have the most severe punishments, as they are considered the most horrific crimes as classified by Kansas Law. Felonies that are level five through ten have one year or less prison time mandated.

Level 1

These offenses are punishable by a mandatory sentence of imprisonment for 20 years:

  • 2nd-degree Murder;
  • Aggravated kidnapping;
  • Rape.

Level 2

Aggravated criminal sodomy is punishable by a mandatory sentence of imprisonment of 15 years and the offender must register as a sex offender.

Level 3

These felony offenses are punishable by a mandatory sentence of 7 years imprisonment:

  • Voluntary Manslaughter;
  • Assisted Suicide;
  • Kidnapping;
  • Aggravated robbery;
  • Aggravated liberties with a child by spouse of a parent (must register as a sex offender);
  • Criminal sodomy (must register as a sex offender);
  • Aggravated arson.

Level 4

These aggravated felony offenses are punishable by a mandatory sentence of imprisonment of 5 years and six months:

  • Aggravated battery; criminal threat; and indecent liberties with a child (must register as a sex offender).

Level 5

These offenses are punishable by a mandatory sentence of 4 years and 6 six months imprisonment:

  • Involuntary manslaughter;
  • Robbery;
  • Injury to pregnant woman;
  • Injury to pregnant woman with a vehicle;
  • Indecent liberties with a child (must register as a sex offender);
  • Sexual exploitation of a child (must register as a sex offender);
  • Aggravated sexual battery (must register as a sex offender);
  • Aggravated incest (must register as a sex offender);
  • Abuse of a child;
  • Aggravated burglary.

If you or someone you know need legal assistance in Kansas or Missouri, contact us today at (816) 875-0470!