When good people get in trouble: Missouri (816) 875-0470 Kansas (913) 624-9646

If you’ve never gotten a speeding ticket, then you’re luckier than most people who hit the road.  While it’s important to always drive responsibly and obey traffic laws, if you’ve got a lead foot and let those tickets pile up, you could be at risk of having your license suspended.

Can I have my license revoked just for simple speeding tickets?

In Missouri, every time you’re found guilty of a moving violation — which includes paying the fine rather than going to court and attempting to have it amended — you earn points on your driver’s license.  For speeding, you get three points.  If you accumulate 8 or more points within an 18-month period, your license will be suspended for 30 days the first time.  If it happens again, it’ll be 60 days.  The third time, it’s 90 days.  Furthermore, if you get 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 24 months or 24 points in 36 months, you’ll receive a one-year suspension.

How can I find out if I’m close to having my driver’s license suspended?

You can check out your driver’s record by calling 573-526-2407 or e-mailing dlbmail@dor.mo.gov.

If I’m almost to the limit for suspension or have already received one, what can I do?

If you are in danger of having your license suspended, or if you’ve recently received a suspension, give Attorney Daniel Miller a call at 816-272-1350 or toll-free at 888-423-8248, or fill out his simple-to-use web form.  Daniel Miller is a former prosecutor and state trooper, and he knows how to review your violations and get them amended to lesser or non-moving violations.  This reduces the points on your license and keeps you on the road so you can keep working and living — hopefully with a close eye on the speed gauge!