Missouri’s landlord-tenant laws are complicated. This makes it difficult for renters and landlords to know what their rights are. Here are five things you may not know about Missouri’s landlord-tenant laws.
1. Security Deposit Landlord-Tenant Laws
Landlords are held to limits when it comes to security deposits. State law dictates that two months’ rent is the maximum amount that a landlord may ask for. Moreover, landlord-tenant laws stipulate that the landlord must return the security deposit within 30 days after a tenant moves.
2. Itemizing Returned Security Deposits
Many landlords don’t know that Missouri landlord-tenant laws require them to provide an itemized list with security deposit refunds. The itemization must note if any portions of the deposit were used to cover back rent or the cost of any cleaning or damage. Providing the itemization may help prevent disputes.
3. The Move-Out Letter
Landlords can also minimize disputes by preparing a move-out letter when they learn that a tenant will be vacating. The letter may explain inspection procedures, outline how the unit should be left and specify how and when to return the keys. Although not required by landlord-tenant laws, these letters can make excellent evidence in a court case against a non-compliant tenant.
4. Late Rent
Rental or lease agreements legally specify the due date for the rent. Usually, this is the first of the month. Landlord-tenant laws in Missouri don’t prohibit charging late fees on rental payments made after this date. However, the landlord must disclose in the lease that late fees will be charged and how they are calculated.
5. Unconditional Quit Terminations
Missouri landlord-tenant laws give landlords the right to issue unconditional quit terminations when a tenant repeatedly violates the terms of their lease. Tenants are given 10 days’ notice. After this time, they may be evicted.
If you need legal advice about dealing with landlord-tenant issues, make sure to contact the office of Daniel C. Miller today in the Kansas City area.